I feel stuck and depressed and i don't know what to do?

serena121

Hi, this is my first time on the forums. I'm 16 years old and I've been a member of the church for almost 4 years now. My dad isn't a member and my mom is inactive and they got a divorce recently. one of my best friends left for a mission a few months ago, and even though i'm really happy for him, I've felt very lonely since then. I'm really shy so I don't have a lot of friends. just moved to a new place, so I'm going to a new school and I haven't found my place yet... 

I've been depressed this entire summer. even my psychologist agrees with me. i've been stressed with school work  and self-esteem issues and I've been sleeping excessively. depression runs in the family. people tell me "hang on, it'll get better" and I know it will eventually, but that's not really why I'm posting here.

I'm posting here because I feel so frustrated and hopeless with my relationship with Heavenly Father. i really wish i didn't have to say that. i'm not a bad person, but i don't follow the commandments perfectly. i feel like the depression has had me loose interest in being as righteous as i used to be. and now I feel like He won't help me because im not doing everything I'm supposed to? i need help, but i feel like He isn't answering me. it's so frustrating. i've tried and tried to get myself out of this mess but i keep failing. i wish i could feel like He's here for me, but i'm sorry, i don't, and i don't know if that's my fault or not. all i know is that i just want to feel happy again. any advice? 

Depression is a thing that does not have a one cure all thing.

You can't be perfect and striving for something like that when you are in such a state will only make it worse.

Placing the blame on yourself is the worst thing you can do, i know I am not the best to answer at it from a religious angle, I don't have one, I can't commit to the church because in times of deep depression I simply drop it like a stone.