Hope for a man with no dating experience?

I am a life-long member of the Church with a dating problem. That dating problem is... I don't date.

I will begin with the basics.

I am 23 years old and reside in Washington State, where I am finishing up my bachelor’s degree at the University of Washington. I enjoy creative writing, which is what I’m studying (I’m also studying journalism). My hope is to someday be a published author and travel the world, meeting all kinds of people.

I should also mention right now that I have Asperger’s Syndrome. It is very difficult for me to cope with being in large social settings. I feel like this is magnified in Church social settings, because I feel as if members of the Church judge people who are socially awkward. Whenever my stake has Stake Conference, I often try to find a seat in the High Council room (where there’s CCTV set up). That way, I don’t have to sit in the gym, where I’ll develop claustrophobia, get caught up in a mass exodus to get out, and risk having an awkward encounter.

In addition to social difficulties, I am also physically uncoordinated (this is usually considered one of the criteria for having Asperger’s). I dread going to Church activities, since most (not all, but certainly most) of these activities are centered around athletics, and I am literally no good. And no, I do not mean that I “just need practice”–––my motor coordination won’t allow me to be proficient in sports.

That’s background to while I’m here today: I have never dated.

For The Strength of Youth counsels young Latter-Day Saints to begin dating at 16 years old, and to begin with group dates (two or more couples). I missed that window. And I don’t mean by a small margin, either. I’m now 23, and I’ve never double- or group-dated. Never had a girlfriend. Don’t even know how to flirt with a woman.