Pursuing Re-baptism After Name Removal in 2012

OhThatMatty

I am just beginning to coordinate meetings with my local Elder Missionaries, and also spoke to the Executive Secretary in my ward about scheduling a meeting with my Bishop as soon as possible for the following reason:

--I had my name removed from the Church records back in September 2012. This was due largely to some personal circumstances and what I saw as conflict with leadership at that time. I am just now beginning to approach the possibility of re-baptism into the church.

I realize that a former member must wait at least one year before pursuing rebaptism, but it has been over 27 months since I left membership. 

For those who may have experienced this, and waited for over one year...once the waiting process is over, if one is able to live the commandments, does it take EVEN LONGER to pursue rebaptism, or is this just dependent upon one's local bishopric. 

I'd appreciate any help anyone could give! Thank you in advance! I'm new on here!   :) 

Matt

Welcome.  I'm not familiar with the rebaptism process, but not long ago I heard a podcast interview with a woman who had left the Church and then three years later decided to return.  She said her bishop was enthusiastic about her return but that the process took over four months.  From what I understand, she had to go through the missionary discussions again, and the missionaries were sluggish about inviting her to be rebaptized until they had checked off all the teaching items in their checklist, even stacking paper cups on the woman's table to demonstrate the structure and organization of the Church.  She also added that a lot of "troop rotation" (my paraphrase) was occurring among the missionaries in that area and that she had to work with three separate missionary teams.  So it's unclear if her experience is the rule or the exception.